DIY Watermelon Basket

DSCN490620130524_213811.

I’m not sure how, but for the last few years I have become the watermelon basket person among my friends.  I was once asked to make one for a graduation party.  Not knowing the “correct” method of how to make one, I improvised.  Every year since then I’ve been asked to do one for another party.  Well, it is that time again, and I’m making one for a graduation party tomorrow.  Here’s my method:

  • First, gather all your supplies.

DSCN8827I used a watermelon, cantaloupe, and honeydew for this one, but in the past I’ve also used grapes, strawberries etc.

I get a dry erase marker, shot glass, towel, big knife, detail knife, melon baller, spoon, and this nifty little tool I got for free (standing around the grocery store watching a product demonstration in the produce department).

Roll the watermelon around until you find the way that it lays flat the best.

  • Next, grab your marker and draw a horizontal line where you want the basket to open.

DSCN8828

Sometimes I make them higher so the fruit doesn’t fall out, but I’ve made them lower too.

It’s completely up to you.I hold my hand still and turn the watermelon so that I get the same height all the way around level.

  • Next, draw your pattern.

Collage

I take a shot glass and make 2 small lines on the sides.  Line up the little lines with the line on the watermelon and trace.  Repeat all the way around.  Draw a straight line where you want the handle to be and draw your shot-glass-circles in whatever pattern you’d like.  You can use your towel to erase the straight lines and leave the scalloped edge.  Don’t worry if the line doesn’t erase completely right now.  After you’re done with the whole project try again, and if not, you can wet the towel a little and it should come straight off.

  • Next, start cutting.

Collage2

I take my little “v” tool and notch out where the scallops come together.  If you don’t have a tool like this, just use a little knife and make little v’s.  Next, I take a larger knife and cut out big triangles to get rid of the larger sections.  Use the detail knife to go in and carve away at the curves now.

  • Next, make the balls.

Collage3

Insert the melon baller and twist gently to create the watermelon balls.  It’s like scooping ice cream.   Remember we’re adding other fruit, so you won’t fit it all back inside the watermelon.  Clean it up by using a spoon and scraping the walls and the handle being careful not to make the walls too thin.  Cut your other fruit in half, clean out the seeds and make balls of those too.  Mix all the balls in a bowl.  Make sure to empty the watermelon of any additional juice before returning the fruit to the basket.

All done!  

20130524_213811

2 thoughts on “DIY Watermelon Basket

  1. I’ve done this quite a few times — never as pretty as yours though. I also am known for making mine “adult” — mixing vodka, mint and lemon juice with the watermelon before putting it back in the basket. Next time I do one, I’ll have to try your shot glass design method because I love those scalloped edges!

Leave a Reply

