Teacher Appreciation.

The school year is winding down to a close and I just realized that I needed to get/ make something for my son’s pre-k teachers.  When I was at World Market yesterday, I found some really cute coffee cups and it got me thinking.  I found this free pattern on Ravelry yesterday courtesy of  Louise Howe for an apple coaster/ mug rug and thought I’d give it a try.Image

Please note- the pattern is written in U.K. terms.  I had to write it down in U.S. terms to keep myself from using the wrong stitches (again).  I used a Susan Bates I9/ 5.50 mm. hook and some random leftover cotton kitchen yarn that I had in my stash.  I followed the pattern up to the point that it said repeat on the 4th row and stopped. Image I wasn’t too sure about what happened after that point in the pattern, but I thought the size was perfect, so I didn’t worry about adding any more.The leaves worked up really quickly too (I may need to keep them in mind for something else).  I added a chain-stitch stem to top it off.  Image

I also picked up little bags of coffee, chocolates, and wafers to add to the gift bags.    I think that it made a fun way of saying thank you.Image

Click Here to check out my Etsy Shop.

Leave a Reply

